George and Julia's Vegan Underground

Nut Cream Cheese

One day when George came back from the Brooklyn Co-Op, he announced he had picked up some Cashew Cream Cheese, and the price of it was a bit of a wallet buster. A pound of raw cashews is roughly $9.00, and to get a 4oz package of cashew cream cheese is around $6.00. If you’re scratching your head at the discrepancy, so am I. Especially since I made some homemade cashew cream cheese this morning. And it took about 15 minutes.

Homemade Nut Cream Cheese

It’s not cheap being vegan, that’s for sure. But if you’re willing to work for your food then it can definitely be super economical. When I’m in Connecticut, I don’t have as many vegan restaurant options available to me so I tend to boogie down in my kitchen. This was the easiest concoction to whip up. The only thing is that it technically takes about over 12 hours… But first things first, go out buy some raw cashews and soak 1.5 cups of nuts in water overnight.

My nuts are submerged

I found an online recipe for this, but the biggest problem was I didn’t really like the recipe and I don’t own a vitamix. If you click the link, you’ll see that her cream cheese was a lot smoother then mine, but that’s cause she used a better blender. I used a Smoothie Jr

Ideal for Smoothies, not for grinding up cashews

I thought the recipe on the link had a lot of water involved, so I used only 1/4 of water (unfiltered and from the tap). The oil I used was part Pecan oil and part Canola. Finally I juiced half a lemon, used the suggested amount of cider vinegar, but added a couple teaspoons of nutritional yeast to get an unmistakable cheesy and tangy flavor. I’ve read that very dry white wine or top shelf vinegar works really well with homemade cashew cheese. Maybe next time I’ll try those tips out, but for now this came out pretty well.

1.5 cups of cashews made over 8oz of cream cheese

So I threw this raw vegan condiment on top of….

A BAGEL!

If you guess bagel, great job. But that wasn’t the only thing. I dipped some celery into the nuttable spread, and of course went a little wild for dinner and used it on my buffalo chick’n sandwich.

A great addition to a spicy sandwich

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Nut Cream Cheese

Leave a Reply

