George and Julia's Vegan Underground

Grilled Salad

So kale walked onto a grill… and I forgot the rest.

So the idea of grilled salad has been played out on Bobby Flay’s Boy Meets Grill, Chopped, Top Chef, and all those cooking shows. However, none of them have actually INSPIRED me to throw a head of lettuce on a grill. There’s only one place that has sparked something inside me to throw some leafy goodness on the usually exclusive meat inferno: Candle 79

Vegan food made for vegan haters

Candle 79 is a vegan restaurant and without going too far into detail about their greatness, I’ll just  say the Grilled Kale Salad is the new boss. It’s banging. Haven’t we done a post about Candle 79 already? Welp, let’s move on.

“Don’t repeat my past posts, Julia” -George

I decided to pluck some fresh kale from the garden and throw it into a grill pan (grill pans have holes in them) and sprinkle some cider vinegar on top. This dish was made on a whim and if it tasted bad I wouldn’t post about it, but it was very tasty so read below the kale makeover.

That’s a whole lotta Kale

This didn’t taste like what they make at Candle 79. I don’t think anything can. The last time I went to the said establishment was in March, so I really don’t recall the taste. All I remember is that I loved it. So we have a TON of kale in the backyard and I hate raw kale so I had to figure something out. Then it hit me, grill that piece. So I grabbed about 8-10 stalks and stripped them from the stem, tore them up into smaller pieces and threw it on the grill. Sprinkled some cider vinegar on top and let it be.

I grilled it for about 3-4 minutes while plucking some basil (5 leaves of basil to be exact). I saw the edges of the kale getting crispy so I pulled it off the grill. Went back inside, got a sauce pan and drizzled some balsamic dressing in the pan on low heat and then threw the kale and basil in.

Kale, Quinoa, Pine Nuts, Pepperoncini

Added a tablespoon of agave nectar and sauteed it slightly. In another thought process from 10 minutes before, I had decided to make some quinoa. So I threw the quinoa in too. Then I remember I had Turkish pine nuts, and threw that in too. Plus I had some 2 pepperoncinis so I chopped those up too and threw it in and splashed a little more vinegar.  Placed it on a plate and wah-lah. Dinner was awesome.

Not Candle 79, but it works for me.

So just to recap:

  • 8-10 stalks of kale stripped and grilled for 3-4 minutes with cider vinegar splashed on it
  • transport grilled kale to sauce pan with 1 tbs balsamic dressing on low heat. Add kale and basil to dressing.
  • Add tbs of agave nectar (or honey) on top of kale/basil and mix thoroughly.
  • Add another splash of cider vinegar (not too much literally a splash).
  • Add Quinoa, pine nuts, and pepperoncini to pan and stir in for about a minute or two.
  • serve on a plate

Again, THIS isn’t trying to be THE GRILLED KALE SAlAD from Candle 79, this is just inspired by it. Candle 79’s salad has Haricots verts (wtf is that?), beluga lentils (huh?), red onions, turnips, avocado, sunflower seeds, spelt berries, and chive vinaigrette. Basically not basil and quinoa.

Picture of Candle 79 Grilled Kale Salad

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Grilled Salad

  1. Julia on said:

    Reblogged this on George and Julia Eat Manhattan and commented:

    Not your standard Salad

  2. lydia on said:

    haricot verts are skinny little green beans. and i can’t believe you’re growing kale. way to go, crunchy one!

    • Julia on said:

      Thank you, thank you. I’ve been dabbling with kale based recipes. I made a faux kale gumbo tonight, needs some tweaks though. Why don’t they just call them skinny little green beans? More appetizing than Hericot verts. Sounds like something Daniel Webster would scream out during a senate debate.

Leave a Reply

