George and Julia's Vegan Underground

Juiced Up Thursday

Get juiced

George has his Vegans that Rock every Friday, and I was feeling left out so I decided to make Thursday a weekly juice day. I thought about naming it Juicy Jersday, but I went with something more user friendly. Anyway, so what does Juiced Up Thursday entail? Well Juice recipes of course! For a few days now I’ve been feeling a little under the weather because of a cold I contracted out in the Bay Area, and I haven’t had a juice in a few days. So when I got home from work I decided it’s time to get juiced up. I haven’t been to the grocery store in a VERY long time so all I had left in the fridge are apples, pears, and carrots. But I have a lawn of kale growing in the backyard. So I plucked some kale, used the rest of the carrots, and grabbed 2 pears and 1 apple.

About 12-15 stalks of kale…

I call this drink the Kale Surprise. Why? Well because I’ve never made it before and I have no idea how it will taste. So I threw it in the juicer; pears first, then kale followed by carrots and apple. It came out looking very green and healthy. Usually a good thing.

Taste testing it…

Final thoughts?

It was ehh… a little too sweet. Definitely needs a 1/2 lemon in there. But I can’t ignore the benefits to it:

Kale: Super food that includes calcium, vitamin B6, magnesium, vitamin A, C and K. Good source of minerals like copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus. Basically it kicks butt, and is the queen of the greens.

Pears: Get your vitamins with this fruit. Includes vitamins A, C, K, B2, B3 and B6. Like Kale, it’s chockfull of minerals too like calcium, magnesium, potassium, copper and manganese. Pears also contain Boron which helps retain calcium and has been linked to osteoporosis prevention (call of grandma and let her know!)

Apples: Well apples do after all keep the doctor away. And this fruit packs a punch while doing so. Helps with asthma, weight loss, lowering cholesterol, and diabetes management. More over it includes a ton of prevention to cancers like breast, lung and colon cancer. That’s a potent fruit

Carrots: Get to know a great source of vitamin A in the carrot. Vitamin A is a great healing agent. It cleanses and restores the liver. So after a night out, throw some carrots into your breville or any other juicer and feel better.

Farmer George supports juicing benefits

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

