George and Julia's Vegan Underground

George’s Famous Kale Salad

Here it is, the recipe you’ve been waiting for…George’s Famous Kale Salad.
Now I know I have been promising this and I’m happy to share. As you may know, I practically live off this stuff. Julia was a little skeptical but now is on board. We try to eat 1-3 servings a day. I make a big Tupperware container (sometime doubling the recipe). One of the great things about George’s Famous Kale Salad is it lastsfor a week with the dressing on. Lettuce wilts after one day but Kale is tough and additional days in the refrigerator will actually enhance this magical dish.

What makes this dish so great? It has it all, vitamins, protein, fiber, and good fat (from almonds) and it tastes amazing.  If you had to live off this salad, you’d like, even love it.  Live you would, with a capital “L.”.  While it helps to have a high-powered blender (like the Vitamix), it is not necessary. If you are using a traditional blender just chop up your ginger, jalapeno and cilantro a bit more.  (If you have a Vitamix, you can use the half water/half vegetable chopping method. 4 pulses and drain).

This salad has so much going for it. The lemon cuts the bitterness of the kale and the carrots and almonds give it a nice crunch.  The blueberries work so well, adding sweetness and antioxidants.  The dressing is out of this world and contains no oil! The dressing is my own take on a recipe I got from my good friend Dr. Joel Fuhrman. Thanks Joel. So let’s get started!

Here’s what you need:

6 Cups of Organic Curly Kale (any Kale will do but I prefer curly)
Organic Frozen Blueberries (or Fresh Organic if in season)
16 oz or about 10 organic carrots
1/2 cup of natural organic raw almonds (whole or sliced)
2 bananas
1/2 cup of organic cilantro
4 oz. of fresh ginger root
2-3 lemons
2 tablespoons of diced organic jalapeno without seeds
Chopped bananas and 1/2 cup of water

Wash and chop the kale so you’ve got ribbons no more than an inch.
Finely chop your carrots and almonds (you could buy them pre-chopped)
Put the kale, carrots and almonds in a large Tupperware container. You may need more than one container. Set the kale/carrot/almond blend to the side.
Put into the blender the following:
chopped ginger root
lemons squeezed/juiced
jalapeno without seeds (increase or decrease jalapeno to taste)
finely Chopped Cilantro (if using a traditional blender take out as many stems as you can)
chopped bananas

Add water and blend until liquified. Pour this dressing over the kale/carrot/almonds. Add blueberries and put the lid on the Tupperware and shake until it is well mixed. Enjoy! Put the remaining salad in the refrigerator. It will keep up to 7 days. This salad will change your life. It will make you feel energetic and invincible.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “George’s Famous Kale Salad

  1. Reblogged this on An unwanted W and commented:

    I’m really missing George. When I woke up this morning I listened to his voicemails. Just hearing his voice was soothing. Made me feel loved, reminded me to keep pushing along, allow the hurt to fuel me rather than cripple. George and I blogged together, it was something fun and silly. When I look back at the posts it’s like a blissful time iced over. Like when the first freeze of late Fall comes and the leaves haven’t fallen and they remain hanging on the limbs in perfect condition like they are packaged and ready.
    He used to make this Kale salad, and I dont really love raw kale but he was so proud of it, and for some reason I was wondering how to make it this morning. So I went back to and found it. Maybe I’ll slap it together soon enough.

Leave a Reply

